Last But Not List

Hoping an adventure will happen.

14. Cook dinner (once) August 22, 2011

Filed under: Summer 2011 — Last But Not List @ 3:08 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

14. Cook dinner (once)

This is my attempt at making enchiladas. I’m not sure if it turned out exactly the way enchiladas are supposed to be, but my excuse is that I’m not very good with savory foods. Pastries are good, snacks are okay, but actual meals… yeah, not so much.

But I understand that actual cooking is an important skill to learn. Especially when I get my own place and have to cook for myself. I have to actually get in there and touch disgusting stuff (like meat and seafood). And cook it.

So I looked in the pantry and in the fridge. Looked at what I was working with, and searched the web for a recipe that would fit the ingredients I had. This is what I came up with. (I actually did this 2 nights ago, but that’s not important.)

First, I made the tortillas. YES, I made them. From scratch. How cool is that? Okay, so they’re probably not the most authentic tortillas, but still, they’re freaking tortillas made from freaking scratch, damn it!

Here’s the recipe :)

http://www.instructables.com/id/Eat-Good-Food-Make-your-own-tortillas/#step1

2 cups flour, 1.5 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt.

Add 2 tablespoons of oil. (I used olive oil) And mix. It will be crumbly.

Add 3/4 cup WARM (not cold, not hot) milk.

Take the dough and knead on a floured surface for 5 minutes.

Place dough in a bowl and let rest for 20 minutes (Muy importante). Cover with damp cloth.

Tear the rested dough into 8 pieces and roll into balls. (Tear in half and then tear each half in half, etc).

Place on a plate (make sure they don't touch each other) and cover with the damp cloth again. Let rest for 10 more minutes.

On a floured surface, use your rolling pin to roll each ball out into a tortilla about 8" in diameter.

Cook the tortillas on a dry skillet. They really don't take long to warm through on each side.

So once the tortillas were all made, I set them aside and started on the filling. Believe it or not, even though those tortillas were time-consuming and gave me a total upper body workout, the filling was still the hard part.

“Why?” you ask?

Well, I’ll tell you. Because it called for close contact with these:

Okay, so I only chopped like 1/3 of an onion.

And one clove of garlic.

But they stink. Ew. The onion did NOT make me cry. It didn’t! Maybe because I didn’t chop enough of it to make me cry. Anyway, this is the filling recipe I followed.

http://picky-palate.com/2008/08/11/fiesta-chicken-and-spinach-enchiladas/

But I changed it a little bit. These are what I used:

  • 1/3 of one onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Spinach. Handfuls of it. I didn’t measure 10 oz.
  • One roma tomato and about 10 small cherry tomatoes
  • One breast from a leftover Costco rotisserie chicken
  • Cumin
  • Black Pepper
  • Salt
  • Garlic Seasoning
  1. The first thing I did was to chop up the tomatoes and shred the chicken. I didn’t have to cook it because it was already cooked. I put these two in the same bowl and set it aside.
  2. I chopped up 1/3 of an onion and plastic wrapped the rest for other folks. Then chopped up the clove of garlic. Many paper towels were used. Wincing and making gagging noises were necessary.
  3. In a clean skillet, I poured about a tablespoon of oil, and added the onions to it. I let it soften for about 10 minutes. As in, I was REALLY letting those onions sweat out. I didn’t want to be biting into a crunchy onion. Gross.
  4. During this time, I got handfuls and handfuls of baby spinach and washed and dried them in a salad spinner. I did this with the knowledge that spinach wilts. And I wanted to still end up with a lot of spinach. So let me emphasize HANDFULS AND HANDFULS.
  5. Then once the onions looked cooked through, I added the garlic and let them mellow together for about a minute.
  6. Add the spinach and let them all wilt down. Also add the salt, pepper, garlic seasoning and cumin. (The website I got this filling recipe from specifies measurements for these flavorings, but I just sprinkled them on since I cut the recipe down a lot anyway.)
  7. Once the spinach is wilted, add the chicken and tomatoes. Cook through. About 3 minutes. (The chicken was already cooked, so I was just warming it all up).

Then, I made a cream sauce. Sort of. I couldn’t use the sauce recipe that went with the filling because I didn’t have all of those ingredients, so I had to sort of improvise my own. But I based it off of the sauce in this recipe:

http://www.lowfatlifestyle.com/entrees/entreerecipes/chickenenchiladas.htm

But again, I changed it a bit. This is what I came up with:

  • 1 cup of plain low fat yogurt
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon lemon salt
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 cup milk

I know it seems like I just included a bunch of random ingredients I found in the pantry. And that’s right, that’s EXACTLY what I did. I just put them all in a bowl and mixed them together. (I added the milk last though, and in small additions to make it easier on myself).

It was fine. I mean, it didn’t taste that good on its own. It was okay. But with the filling. OOOOOHHHMAN! It was delish.

So you add half of the sauce to the chicken mixture.

Pour some filling in the middle of a homemade tortilla and roll it up.

Place the “enchiladas” seam side down. My dish fit four extremely fat enchiladas. Then pour the remaining sauce over it.

Since all of the components are pretty much cooked and nothing’s raw, I just put it in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes to fully warm it through.

I thought the enchiladas were too fat and too big, and they probably are, but I didn’t know if I could finish a whole one.

This is ACTUAL food. And I made it.

I ended up eating two. Maybe because I made them and I always like eating what I make because I know exactly what I put in them. Muy delicioso!

 

One Response to “14. Cook dinner (once)”


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.