10. Cream Scones

10. Cream Scones

I’ve wanted to try to make scones or biscuits for a while, but the cold butter always intimidated me. I like to bake, but I usually stay in the arena of cookies and cupcakes which always called for melted butter or creamed butter. Never cold butter. But since I’m feeling oh so adventurous this summer, I decided to just go for it. So I got this recipe from one of my favorite websites: http://www.joyofbaking.com/scones.html.

Here’s the recipe, I tweaked it a bit for my tastes: Cream Scone Recipe:

2 cups (260 grams) all-purpose flour

1/4 cup (50 grams) granulated white sugar [I used 1/3 cup b/c I wanted it to be sweeter]

2 teaspoons (10 grams)baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup (75 grams)coldunsalted butter, cut into pieces

1 largeegg, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract [I don’t measure my vanilla exactly… ever]

1/2 cup (120 ml) milk, half-and-half, or heavy cream

First, the dry ingredients:

I used 1/3 cup sugar

Then the dreaded cold butter.

Forgive me for being nervous but... this is my first time.

Cutting it up into the flour. Am I doing this right? I decided a fork does the trick when you don’t have that fancy shmancy cutter thing.

It needs to be the texture of "coarse sand."

I don’t remember when I decided I didn’t need to measure how much vanilla I put into a mixture, but I’ve been doing it for a while now and it turns out well. So anyway, that’s why there’s a lot of vanilla in that bowl. You don’t care. It’s just a pretty picture.

Half milk, half egg, half vanilla. *giggle*

Create a “well” with the dry ingredients and add the wet ingredients. Fancy shmancy.

I created my well well because I'm a pro.

The dough will be pretty sticky at first. Then, flour the board like crazy and knead. Kneading sounds complicated, too, but I’ve done it before so I wasn’t scared. Nope, not at all. I do this ALL THE TIME… *cough*

Flour the rolling pin too!

Cut out the scones!

I used a glass to cut these out. Flour your cutter as well!

The recipe calls for 15-20 mins. Mine were done in 17-18. By the way, I glazed mine with melted butter and sugar because I wanted it to be sweet. It was fine, it just didn’t brown the tops that much.

And a toothpick came out clean.

They were delicious! Not too sweet. Eating it made me feel like I was English and it was tea time or something. It made me feel all “posh” in my PE shorts and tank top. Good for breakfast, which is what it was to me. The first thing I did this morning after I took a shower, watched TV and went on Facebook, was make these. They are pretty easy to make and don’t call for complicated ingredients or tools. But I didn’t get to eat until AFTER 12 PM. So maybe it was brunch?

Raspberry jam and butter.

Simple.

One thought on “10. Cream Scones

Leave a Reply

