Friendship Bracelet Pattern #1

So I’ve finally gotten around to learning a new friendship bracelet pattern. The number of friendship bracelets on my arm have slowly diminished and now I need to find better and more creative ones to replace them. [Yes, I make my own friendship bracelets. I don’t have any friends to make them for me.] Anyway, a really good website to find new patterns is http://friendship-bracelets.net/. The instructions there are super easy and you can easily search the level of difficulty you want. The only thing is, you need to know how to read the instructions they give you. I’m not going to show you step by step how to do this pattern that they are showing, but I will attempt, to the best of my abilities, to show you how you should read the arrows and what exactly those are telling you.

So, without further ado (wtf?), let me present to you my first friendship bracelet pattern of choice this summer. This is the tutorial which can be found by clicking http://friendship-bracelets.net/pattern.php?id=42293.

This is what the website will show you:

Oy vey! So many arrows! What do they mean?

These may seem confusing at first, but once you learn how to interpret the instructions, you will be able to follow any pattern on the site. Some tips to keep in mind.

  1. Work line by line. 
  2. Read the arrows from left to right.
  3. Each circle is an instruction. It tells you which direction to loop which string. Each arrow equals 2 loops. (Will clarify more later.)
  4. Make sure you have something to hold the top down. Either a heavy object, or tape it down as you go.
Well, I guess we start from the beginning. The first thing you’ll want to do is cut up embroidery floss (3 feet long? maybe less). This particular pattern calls for 6 strings. Four of the same color and two different colors, as you can see from the picture above. First, you’ll want to tie a knot. Leave extra string at the top, you can use this to tie off the bracelet later on.
I already started *teehee*

 Then, make sure to order your strings the way they are supposed to be ordered.

If we follow the instructions it should be 2 yellows, black, red, 2 yellows.

Alright, so then we follow the instructions on the first line from left to right. The first arrow on the left of the first line points diagonally to the right. This means that you take your first yellow string and loop it around the second yellow string in the direction to the right.

First yellow string loop over second yellow string.
Loop it under to make a knot.
Tighten it. As you can see, we knotted it in this >>> direction. Hence, an arrow towards the right.

Remember, each arrow=2 knots.

Second knot.

If we follow the 2nd step on the first line, it is basically the same thing. Except this time, you are knotting the black string over the red string. After you do this, the position of the strings, will naturally switch. (The two yellows will switch, and the black and red will switch.) The third step on the first line is to knot the last two yellow strings. This time, to the left. It’s basically the same thing, except you take the last yellow string and loop it in the other direction.

You basically just follow the instructions and the direction of the arrows. Remember to read it like a book. From left to right, and one line at a time. Now you will run into arrow that look like sideways V’s. (For lack of a better description.) For example, you will see two of these in line 3. Basically, what it means is that you will need to loop the string once in the first direction and then in the other direction. So for the first arrow in line 3, it is telling you to knot the red string over the yellow string first to the left and then back again, to the right. (These count as your two knots).

Knot to the left.
And then to the right.

The last arrow in line 3 tells you to knot the black string first to right and then to the left. Get it? It’s SO SIMPLE once you get the hang of it. Basically, that’s the gist of it. You really just need to know what those arrows mean and what to do, and then you’ll be able to follow any pattern you want. Just keep following the instructions until you get to the last line and your strings should be in their original position.

I had already followed the pattern 3 times. The strings are in the original position.

This is only the first of 10 new patterns to learn this summer. Now I have 9 more to go. I’ll look for more interesting ones. And sorry for the blurry pictures, I had to do this all by myself. Again, because I don’t have any friends to help me. But anyway, at least I had my music! Friendship-bracelet-making-music #1. Very summery. Very adventurey. Just the perfect mood, don’t you think?

3 thoughts on “Friendship Bracelet Pattern #1

  1. Hey there I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you by accident,
    while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining
    blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot more,
    Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

