1. 500 Days of Summer

1. 500 Days of Summer

500 pictures of Summer.

Alrighty tighty. This is sort of a big one. I’ve sort of wanted to watch this movie for a while now, and after all that anticipation, I have to say, I’m a little disappointed. I actually watched this last night (June 26) and right after watching it, I thought it really wasn’t anything special. It was blown out of proportion. But now that I look back, I realize I enjoyed it a little bit more than I originally thought, but still, not as good as I’ve been hoping.

Okay, so one thing about this movie is that they made this man:

Joseph Broseph

Look like he just got out of bed in each and every scene. Which isn’t always that attractive. BUT I can overlook that.

One thing I love, though, is that this movie is so damn realistic. After complaining about all these sappy happy endings in movies, I finally watched a movie that didn’t necessarily have a sad ending for the sake of being different, but it had such a normal, realistic ending. This wasn’t a story of boy meets girl and they end up together and live happily ever after. NO. This is a story of boy meets girl but it doesn’t quite work out and someone ends up more heartbroken than the other. That’s the whole truth of it. Sad, but true. And I love that.

What a refreshing breath of fresh air.

I mean, I was expecting to hate Zooey Deschanel‘s character because everyone kept saying she was such a beeotch, but I completely understand her! I do. You inevitably have to hurt someone, sometime.

Basically, this movie was nothing special, only because it wasn’t trying to be. It succeeded so well in being real and I truly appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

