18. Watermelon Granita

18. Watermelon Granita

Granita. This has always interested me. I mean, after all, how different could it be from a mushy fruit popsicle, right? Why does it need such a fancy name like “granita”? I have run into many granita recipes that call for alcohol. And maybe that’s why it needs such a special name. Most alcoholic beverages need allure in their demeanor in order to fool people into drinking them, because let’s be honest. Alcohol tastes disgusting. Obviously, I’m not a very big fan, but I’ve always been interested in granitas because they just look so refreshing. I mean, it’s ninety-freaking-degrees outside. I’m in shorts and a tank top and there’s leftover watermelon in the fridge. Try to give me a reason not to make watermelon granitas. Anyway, it’s not that difficult to Google a granita recipe without alcohol, and who else could I trust more than Food Network? No one.

So here’s their recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/watermelon-granita-recipe/index.htm

Ingredients:

4 cups seedless watermelon chunks

1/2 cup sugar

Juice of 1 lemon

So basically there was about 1/3 of a watermelon still left in the fridge and we would have lost it, had I not decided to whip these babies up into something fresh! So I used all of it since it was just a bit over 4 cups.

Cue the angelic singing. Ew mushy!

You just take the three ingredients and whip them all together in a food processor. I used a blender. Same difference.

Sugar.
When life gives you lemons...
Watersugarlemon mush.

The directions tell you to place the mixture in a wide shallow dish. Since my freezerisn’t wide enough, I decided to divide the mixture into two dishes.

Twinsies!

You leave this in the freezer for one hour. “Rake.” Put it back for another hour. Rake some more. Put it back for another hour. Rake. AND THEN serve.

You "rake" the ice with a fork. Break it apart and whatnot. Look at those raking skills!

Three (3) ingredients that were already in my fridge. AND I didn’t need to turn on the oven and make the house even hotter than it already is! I think this is the perfect summer recipe because it’s so refreshing and pretty healthy, too. And it looks very fancy if you put it in a very fancy glass, and it doesn’t even have alcohol in it!

Brr.
One thought on “18. Watermelon Granita

  1. Wow, this looks really good! I have a whole watermelon in the house which I’m going to use to make granitas. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

