14. Crepes

14. Crepes

So crepes are just like really really really thin pancakes. And they’re really really really easy to whip up. But the only problem is they’re not so easy to make. Well, they are, once you get the hang of it. But when I made these, I didn’t really get the hang of it until like, the 4th time I scooped the batter in. Anyway, this is the recipe I used:

1 cup all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup water
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter, melted

Eggs, milk, water
Melted buttah
Scoop in the flour/salt mixture a little at a time.
1/4 cup batter and spread around. This is the hard part.

It took me four to five tries to perfect this. Also, make sure you don’t overgrease the pan because that makes the crepe soggy. [Which is what happened to the first ones I made.]

Flip.

Once I made all of the crepes, I just put stacked them onto a plate and made a filling because I didn’t have any fruits to put in it. So we must make use of what we have. This is the recipe I used for the filling.

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Filling

4 oz. cream cheese, softened
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 TBL sugar or Splenda [Don’t use Splenda, that’s gross]

Vanilla

And then you prepare them.

You take a crepe.
I sprinkled sugar on the crepe first, and then I spread the filling. Not too much, k?

Anyway, they were good. I must admit, not the best. It didn’t make me go WOWZER! I probably need some more practice with crepe-making. And the next time I make it, I’ll add some fresh fruit on the side. Oh well, at least I get to cross this off my list.

3 thoughts on “14. Crepes

  1. They look great! In the last picture you said they looked deflated, but I had some when I was in Paris over spring break, and the ones you made look just right! I like them with Nutella (globs and globs of it), or, if you’re running low on filling ingredients, strawberry flavored cream cheese and fresh strawberries are so good.

    Yay crepes! Good work 🙂

Leave a Reply

