18. The Social Network

The Social Network
Image via Wikipedia

18.The Social Network 

So I enjoyed this movie. I don’t know what else to say, I mean this isn’t like the other movie I watched earlier today, Everything Is Illuminated, that is based on a book. I mean, this is based on real life, and I don’t know how much of it is accurate because I wasn’t there. So I can’t make any assumptions.

But I can wonder if Mark Zuckerberg is really as cheeky in real life as he was portrayed by Jesse Eisenberg in the movie. Did he really talk that fast and use big words like “algorithm”? [Okay so he probably did use the word algorithm.] Was he really that much of an asshole? Is he still an asshole? The whole time I was just observing Eisenberg’s words and actions and imagining Zuckerberg saying and doing them.

This movie actually made me think of a lot of things. Of how much I don’t want to be in business because of all the legal stuff and liability. Big word. I don’t know what it means. And the whole time, they claim that Zuckerberg doesn’t care about money, but who’s the billionaire now, huh? Anyway, it’s a dirty dirty business. Getting tied with all this money and stocks. Another big word.

I mean, the poster’s right. You do make a few enemies, and again, I’m not here to talk about the accuracy of the plot, but if it’s remotely true, getting into business with your best friend is a pretty good way to make an enemy, especially if there’s money and stocks involved. And percentages. Really really small percentages. I don’t know about you, but it kind of sucks losing friends like that.

It just makes me wonder what happened to all of Zuckerberg’s enemies. The Winklevoss brothers, that other guy they were with, and Saverin. Do they have Facebooks? How about their kids? Awkward.

Just a thought.

One thought on “18. The Social Network

Leave a Reply

