6. Nectarine Cobbler

6. Nectarine Cobbler

When I was in middle school, I wanted to start my own restaurant. I wanted to be a pastry chef because I only liked making sweet things. I still like making/baking desserts or sweet snacks, but I am beginning to lose hope of starting my own restaurant mostly because in order to be a successful chef, I have to be able to make up my own recipes.

Obviously, I don’t use my own recipes when it comes to making things. I always just google recipes and pick the best one or pick one where I don’t have to buy too many extra ingredients. Now, I got this recipe from this blog: http://www.joythebaker.com/blog/2009/06/nectarine-and-cream-cobbler/ and I picked it because of it’s simplicity. Whenever I think of cobbler, I think of grandmothers working all afternoon in the kitchen just to create this bubbling glory. But this recipe makes it possible for me to join those toothless grandmothers and get the same result in less than an hour.

This is what the recipe calls for:

1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

pinch of cloves

pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

3/4 cup milk (low fat milk will work fine)

3 cups sliced nectarines, skins left on

1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

Let’s begin!

First, I sliced up two nectarines, although one would have been enough.
Sugar, flour, spices, baking powder.
Add the milk. I used buttermilk.
In a pan, brown the stick of butter.
Pour the browned butter into an 8x8 or 9x9 square baking dish.
Pour the batter on top of the browned butter. Don't stir it around!
Evenly arrange the nectarine slices and sprinkle brown sugar on top.
Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40-45 minutes, and it should come out like this!

This cobbler was very successful. It was pretty sweet, but that’s because I didn’t eat it with the usual whipped cream or vanilla ice cream. But either way, it’s absolutely delicious and bubbly and warm and cozy. And I felt so accomplished because I always thought ancient desserts like this were out of my league. There are already so many great recipes out there, and I don’t feel quite so bad about using them instead of coming up with my own. Especially if they taste this good.

Nectarine cobbler.
Leave a Reply

