9. Pound Cake

9. Pound Cake

I’m used to the the pound cakes we buy from Costco. You know, the ones in packs of threes. Really dense and sweet that it sticks to the roof of your mouth like peanut butter. That one. When we were young, while the neighborhood children spent their Saturday mornings watching Lizzie McGuire and Evens Stevens on the Disney Channel, my siblings and I sat in front of our clunky television watching cook shows on KCET. Why? Because we didn’t have cable yet and we hadn’t discovered the world of Food Network, and also because our version of the Disney Channel consisted of reruns.

But I’m not complaining. I loved those cook shows, especially America’s Test Kitchen where they mix history, chemistry and entertainment all into one! [I guess it’s safe to say that I wasn’t really the most popular girl in school.] Anyway, for some reason one of the main things I remember from this show (after I ditched it for Giada de Laurentiis and Rachel Ray) was the episode about pound cakes. This is where the history kicks in: they said that pound cake got its name from the way it used to be made. One pound of sugar, one pound of flour, one pound of butter, etc.

Well, ew. That’s gross. For some reason I took a break from pound cake after that. Maybe the background history subconsciously got to me, or maybe I just grew out of it, but sadly, we don’t buy those pound cakes from Costco anymore. So this summer, I decided to finally try to reunite myself with pound cake. And I found the perfect recipe that would allow me to use some of the buttermilk in the fridge I desperately need to finish. I got the recipe from http://www.food.com/recipe/buttermilk-pound-cake-29113.

Buttermilk Pound Cake Recipe

Cream the butter and sugar.
Add the eggs one at a time. Fully incorporate one before adding the next.
In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, and salt.

Now, you’re going to add the flour mixture and the buttermilk alternately, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. Basically, what I did was to add: 1 cup flour mixture, mix, 1/2 cup buttermilk, mix, 1 cup flour mixture, mix, 1/2 cup buttermilk, mix, 1 cup flour mixture.

First, mix in 1 cup of flour.
1/2 cup buttermilk.

Then repeat, and then mix in the remaining flour mixture. (I already explained this at the top.)

Then add your extracts. I just doubled the amount of vanilla extract.
Butter and flour a cake pan. I'm using a bundt cake pan because it's all we had. I hate buttering and flouring!
Pour in the mixture and bake in a 325 degree oven for 1 hour. I kept mine in for around 1 hour and 15 mins. Depends... until a knife inserted comes out clean.
Voila! All done.
Looking a little plain there, huh?

This would go great with some ice cream, but still tasted really good by itself. My family doesn’t regularly have ice cream in the freezer. Yeah, my house doesn’t really cater to young kids’ tastes. Hey, at least we got cable!


3 thoughts on “9. Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

