10. Go hiking

10. Go hiking

First of all, a shout out to Julian Lometillo for arranging this whole trip. Because to be honest, if he hadn’t invited me to this Facebook event, I probably would have a very difficult time crossing this off my list. But he did, and I took the chance and pressed “I’m Attending” and now voila!, another goal: accomplished.

We went to Pasadena for the hike up Eaton Canyon. Okay first of all, I didn’t think it would be physically possible for me to get out of Julian’s car this morning to start the hike. I’ve only been getting five hours of sleep at night because I have sleeping problems and I have work that I need to wake up for at 5:15 every morning. So today was painful getting started, but once we got it going, it was actually pretty energizing.

Okay, so I’m not really the most nature-loving, environmentalist out there. I admit, tall buildings intrigue me. I love cities and civilization. But I must also admit that it’s nice “being one with nature” from time to time. As my friend, John, would say. It’s nice getting some much needed vitamin D and walking on rocks and getting all dirty and sweaty sometimes. It was fun. A little difficult at first, but you get used to it. I mean, if I got used to it…

Believe it or not, this was the easy part.
We had to walk on rocks to get over the stream. It's like something you read in a children's book, except your shoes get wet.
According to my sources, after a 1.5 hour hike, we finally reached our destination: the (1st) waterfall.
And then we chillaxed for a bit with our organic food. John, Andrea, and I (and camera string).

And then we smelled a skunk and looked around and found the joint that the stink was coming from. And then we looked at the guy that was smoking that joint, being completely “one with nature” and sharing it with his girl friend so that they were “two with nature”. Damn hippies. But still, it was all very peaceful and the perfect mini vacation between workdays for me. And it makes for a compelling story. Because that’s my thing. Whenever I’m in doubt, I think… hmm, but it would make a great story later on. That is… if I’m still alive to tell it. Well, whadyaknow?

Walk a mile in our shoes. Our wet, wet shoes.
Leave a Reply

