8. Cat’s Cradle

8. Cat’s Cradle

I don’t know what it is about Kurt Vonnegut’s books that just make me so in love with them. . . so in love with him. I mean, look at this man!

He's like the Einstein of writing.

Just the way he looks, he just demands so much respect. But of course, he has the talent to back it all up. I love his dialogue and I love the little things he says, or his characters say. And he always has the most interesting and unique characters; always, all the time. It’s genius. It’s insane. What’s the difference?

When I read Slaughterhouse Five two summers ago, I knew that I loved this man and the writer that exists in him. “So it goes”… that killed me (if you’ve read the book, you’d understand). This time, it’s Cat’s Cradle, and whenever I read something amazing, of course I went through the customary moment of silence to recognize such beautiful writing. And then after a while, that just wasn’t enough. I needed to share it with everyone else so that they can see these amazing things. I’ve tried doing this with Foer quotes, but after a while, people get uninterested. I somehow forget that not everyone is as crazy about words as I am. I still don’t understand this. But this is for people, like me, who appreciate some good writing:

“There is love enough in this world for everybody, if people will just look.”

“When I’m dead, I’m going to forget everything–and I advise you to do the same.”

“Tiger got to hunt, Bird got to fly, Man got to sit and wonder, ‘Why,why,why?’ Tiger got to sleep, Bird got to land, Man got to tell himself he understand”

“It’s never a mistake to say good-bye.”

“When a man becomes a writer, I think he takes on a sacred obligation to produce beauty and enlightenment and comfort at top speed.”

“Someday, someday, this crazy world will have to end, And our God will take things back that He to us did lend, And if, on that sad day, you want to scold our God, Why go right ahead and scold Him. He’ll just smile and nod.”

“Of all the words of mice and men, the saddest are ‘It might have been.'”

"See the cat? See the cradle?"

This is definitely one of those books that I didn’t want to end. The chapters are literally 2-3 pages long, sometimes just 1 page or less. And Vonnegut was able to squeeze in 127 chapters in 191 pages. So they’re not really chapters, but sections; which makes it so much easier to read because you finish it so quickly and there’s so much space in between. But either way, the story was great so you wanted to keep reading and finish the story, not just finish the book. Get what I mean? There are some books you read and finish just because you have to, or because you already started it, so you might as well! But then there are books that you read because you want to and you want it to keep going on forever…. This is one of those books.

I don’t know how Vonnegut comes up with his ideas, but they’re so bizarre and so out there, and I love that. He’s so unique and I can’t believe I have to say good-bye to his writing yet again. It’s heartbreaking. Now, I have to go back to reading my war books. sigh. I took a little vacation from my war books to read something that I have chosen to read. But I can do this. I can do this. Until next time… Kurt…

One thought on “8. Cat’s Cradle

Leave a Reply

