13. The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

13. The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus

The thing that drew me to this movie originally was the fact that this was the project Heath Ledger was working on before he died. And the fact that because of his death, it had to be recast with Johnny Depp, Jude Law, and Colin Farrell. I think that’s enough to keep a girl hooked for a movie, don’t you think? I mean if it were any of them individually, it would have already been enough, but with all of them together… well, it’s a must.

Wow.

But, me being me, I expressed excitement and desire for the movie, but I never really did anything about it. Until I kind of sort of just a little bit forgot that the movie existed… maybe? And then at my friend Christine’s house yesterday, looking through her stacks of DVDs for something to watch, I came across The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus and rekindled with those desires. I knew that if I didn’t take the opportunity to watch it then, I would probably never make the effort to watch it at another time when it wasn’t already in reach. So we watched it.

And can I just say, it was very interesting. Not my favorite movie, but still, good enough to keep you thinking. The main idea around it was the danger of making a deal with the devil. And when I started watching it, I realized I would be treated with not just 4 eye candies, but 5. Andrew Garfield, anyone?

Man in uniform *winkwink*

The movie started off pretty slowly, actually. It took its time introducing the theme and the characters, which I didn’t like very much. I mean it was around 2 hours long and the only thing that kept me going was the knowledge that I would be seeing all of Heath Ledger’s transformations in the Imaginarium (which is a mirror you go through that shows you your imagination). And yes, Heath Ledger transforms into Johnny Depp, into Jude Law, into Colin Farrell.

Towards the middle, though, more action starts to happen which is better. I really can’t pinpoint it, but I was left a bit unsatisfied at the end. Maybe because I was expecting this to be Heath Ledger’s grand exit, but you can’t really plan that stuff, and I feel like the movie actually did feel like the cutting short of Ledger’s life. It seemed almost incomplete.

The ending was good, though. Happy (because Anton, Andrew Garfield’s character, is alive and is insanely adorable) but not too happy (because Parnassus doesn’t end up in the best position). Except I don’t understand why Ledger’s/Farrell’s character had to be made “evil” at the end. Throughout the whole movie, he was somewhat of a good guy, you know? Helping them out with their show and whatnot. Can’t they just cut him some slack?

But one thing’s true, this is a movie that I would like to watch over and over again because I think I’ll be able to understand more of it the second time around. I think it really meddles with some deep stuff and the effects and art were beautiful. And anyway, who wouldn’t want to see the beautiful cast once more?

The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus
Leave a Reply

