13. Donuts

13. Donuts

Again with my sister’s healthful living. This time, we decided to experiment with baked donuts. I just wanted to try to make donuts. I didn’t care if it was baked or fried. I mean, what I really wanted was this:

Mmmm fatty.

But we had to resort to making our own. 😦

Anyway, it wasn’t that bad. Although, I’m just going to warn you now, it wasn’t very successful. Whatever, at least we made it. Again, my sister didn’t want to send me the recipe. -_- So I must try my best to remember.

So, for the first time ever, I’m working with yeast.

See? Yeast.

We put the yeast in with 1/3 cup of warm milk. WARM. The warm activates it. The cold will kill it.

Come on warm milk, breathe life into that lifeless yeast.

Then wait five minutes, allowing the milk and the yeast to rest. And then we added some “food” for the yeast. Sugar, nutmeg, salt, and half an egg. At first we were like “WTF? Half an egg?” but then I had the genius idea of beating the egg first and then adding half of it to the yeast. I’m so smart.

Nom nom nom.

Then we added flour. I think it was like 1 and 1/4 cup flour… is that right? My sister’s mean.

Flour. And mix.

You  want to mix until it forms a dough that is “supple and smooth” and that pulls away from the sides of the bowl. If this means that you have to add a little more flour, then do so. We needed to add a bit more liquid, so we did. Just a little though.

Ball o' dough.

Then you need to knead the dough. (Haha!)

My sister's hand. I'll let you feel them for $5.
Then put the dough in an oiled bowl and let it rest for 1 hour. Or longer, until it doubles in size.

Okay, so we waited and hour, plus more. But we were never really sure when the size doubled. So this is where I think we messed up. Maybe we took it out a little bit too early? Oh well.

So anyway, you then roll out the dough with a rolling pin and cut out donuts (and donut holes).

My sister's hands... come on now... $5 anyone? They're really soft.
We used different sized glasses to shape them. Teehee.
In a 375 degree oven. 3 mins for the "donut holes" and 8 mins for the donuts.

When they came out of the oven, my sister sprinkled them with cinnamon/nutmeg sugar. It’s exactly like it sounds. Cinnamon. Nutmeg. Sugar. Wow.

Oooooooh.

They weren’t bad, actually. The dough was nice and soft and chewy. Of course, they weren’t like the Krispy Kreme donuts I was craving. They were definitely more dense since they were baked and not fried. Kind of like a slightly sweeter version of a bagel with sugar on top.

One thought on “13. Donuts

  1. hahaha i love this entry! no… no $5. i will not let anyone feel my hands for money. no. you’re just calling me fat. that’s why i’m soft. because i’m fat. and HEY! these donuts were amazing! i was daydreaming about them after they were gone 😦 i just want the dough actually. no sugar.

Leave a Reply

