5. Banana Cake

5. Banana Cake

I feel like I haven’t written on here for ages. I’ve been feeling pretty lazy recently. My summer job just ended so now I basically have a month left to do everything I haven’t done yet. Not a lot of time, but I think it can be done. But for now, I can cross at least one more thing off my list.

I’ve been making Giada De Laurentiis‘s banana muffins with mascarpone cream frosting for a while now. I make it when I’m in the mood for banana. Usually, I don’t “prefer” to eat bananas, but after baking her muffins, I’ve had a craving for them. This time, however, I wanted to make an actual banana bread. Or a banana cake. Giada’s recipe calls for 2 cups of sugar and 1 cup of vegetable oil.

Here’s Giada’s recipe: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/banana-muffins-with-mascarpone-cream-frosting-recipe2/index.html

But my household has recently been trying to live a healthier lifestyle, after my sister finished reading The Amen Solution. Now we have double fiber bread in the pantry and cottage cheese in the fridge. To be honest, I’m not enjoying this healthy lifestyle, but I wanted to cross something off my list, so when my sister told me she found a banana bread recipe that was “healthy,” I decided to give it a try.

So, she wouldn’t send me the recipe she found because she doesn’t like other people partaking in her healthiness. But we did bake it together so I’ll try to remember as much as I can. K?

So first, mash two ripe bananas.

Mushy.

Then, you add the eggs and I believe 1/2 a cup of apple sauce. Don’t know exactly how many eggs though… darn.

Huevos con bananas y sauce de manzanas.

In a separate bowl, mix the white and brown sugars, cinnamon, baking soda and flour.

Sugars (white and brown), cinnamon, leavener and flour.

Add this to the banana mixture.

And mix.

Then, add in 1/4 cup buttermilk. Yay! I remembered the amount!

Buttermilk.

This is definitely optional, but we also added (eww) nuts. Our nut of choice was the pecan.

I dislike nuts. Also, my sister likes to mix things with a fork.

Grease and flour a baking pan.

Bundt pan again.
Pour it in.

I think you place it in the oven for about… 45(?) minutes. I don’t remember that well, I’m sorry 😦

Cake-y.

This cake was healthy. It didn’t use up any butter, which my sister loves. I don’t really care what the ingredients are, as long as it tastes good. And this did taste good, so it’s all good in the hood. It was very moist and sweet, even though this recipe didn’t use up that much sugar. Definitely less than 2 cups of sugar! Personally, I will still continue to make Giada’s banana muffins when I’m craving something banana flavored, but when I do begin to worry about what I put in my body, I’m glad I have this recipe to lean on to. If I could just figure out where my sister got it from. Except, next time, I’ll leave the nuts out.

Taken from my sister, Nikiya's, camera. Shout out to her. -_-
Leave a Reply

