8. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

8. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

I have quite a bit to say about this book. Or at least, I just want to make sure that all I want to say about this book is said. So I will do this in an orderly manner.

1. THIS BOOK IS NOT FOR CHILDREN. I can say this now since I’m no longer a child. I’m an adult. *giggle* No but seriously, the subject matter is very disturbing and it gets very hmm…. k…i…n…k…y. So yes, **READER DISCRETION IS ADVISED**

2. So if you’re an adult, this is a good book. It is actually really good. Not at first, though. At first, I thought this book would be about some economic BS that I could barely understand. Big words like “industrialist” were thrown around. And don’t get me started on all the long Swedish names. I tried to understand as much of the Wennerstrom situation as I could but I mostly just looked at each word for the sake of reading. I got the gist though, I think. Money was used in wrong ways. But seriously anything about money puts me to sleep, so I thought the beginning of this book was quite slow. But it gets better. TRUST ME. And it actually doesn’t take long to get better. Which I liked. What I didn’t like though, was that at the end, when the interesting part was done, they went back to the boring part of the story; obviously with relation to the beginning, and sometimes I just thought “Oh my gosh! Just be done already!”

3. That said, this book reminded me of the TV show Cold Case. (You know, the one with the lady with the hair.) It was trying to solve a mystery that happened years ago. And did I mention that I like Cold Case? Yes, I like it a lot especially because I like the music that they choose. So this book is like Cold Case without the music. I also found that the dialogue and the characterization seemed to be screenplay-esque. I don’t know why, maybe it’s because this book reminds me so damn much of… you guessed it: Cold Case. But it’s the movements of the characters and the way they talk with such a scripted…ness to them. (Please ignore my grammar today.) The dialogue was basically very scripted (obviously) but it just seemed like something you would watch and hear on TV. On Cold Case perhaps?

"I wake up in the morning and fix my hair."

4. The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo is a girl named Salander. And I like her character. I think it was pretty well developed and I love how street smart and gutsy she is. Who I didn’t like was the main character: Blomkvist. Yeah, I hate him. He’s an effing douchebag. Okay, so Blomkvist is the good guy here, fine, whatever. I’ll acknowledge him as the main character of the book. But that doesn’t mean I have to like him or even respect him. He’s a womanizer. And his relationship with Berger is messed up and selfish. Berger’s a little spoiled brat who just can’t give up pleasure. Fortunately for her, her husband doesn’t mind, because I guess it gives him a reason to sleep around as well. Unfortunately for Blomkvist, none of his other ladies are going to have that. Seriously, this guy sleeps with any female he comes across. It’s really annoying. If he were a female, he’d be called a whore and no one would respect him. Well, I don’t respect him. I don’t care if it was the woman who initiated it, he’s still a manwhore. Sorry, for the harsh words.

5. However, even though I like Salander and hate Blomkvist and Berger, I still really like the ending. I mean, these are fictional characters and I do like myself a satisfyingly bittersweet ending.

Leave a Reply

