Summer 2011 Recap & Freshman Year List

So after 3 long months, summer 2011 is finally over for me. Tomorrow I will be waking up at 4 in the morning and taking a 6-hour trip to Stanford for move-in day. This is exciting!

But first I shall go over what I didn’t accomplish from my Summer 2011 list. Out of 67 goals, I accomplished 46. So, with a little help from my trusty calculator, I scored 68.6%. That’s almost a C. But it’s not. It’s a D. Wow, this kind of reminds me of Calculus…

Anyway, these are the books I didn’t read:

Lolita, The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake, Wide Sargasso Sea, Brave New World, The Good Earth

These are the movies I still haven’t watched:

Across the Universe, Slumdog Millionaire, Tangled, The Hangover, The Hangover 2, 40 Year-Old Virgin, Blue Valentine

These are the things I didn’t bake/make:

Carrot Cake, Chocolate Banana Ravioli, Peanut Butter Granola Bars

And these are the things I didn’t do:

Go to LA Art Walk, Eat food from a Food Truck, Have a picnic (I probably did this a bazillion times this summer, it just never occurred to me), Draw/sketch/paint a poem (and I already had a poem picked out!), Write a short story about tiramisu and tulips (I started, but it’s not done), Learn a new mode of transportation.

NOW. As much fun as it is to pinpoint the things I didn’t do rather than the things I did, we must move on. What’s done is done, and the rest is saved for later. I started this blog because I wanted something to do over the summer. I made the list because I wanted to make sure I don’t run out of things to do. And I didn’t! So I guess it served it’s purpose. But just because summer isn’t over and I won’t have as much free time as I had, doesn’t mean I have to suddenly stop this blog that I’ve started. Why?

1. It gives me something to do and something to look forward to. I get to try things that I’ve always wanted, and make plans to do something specific when I otherwise would have nothing else to do.

2. It forces me to write. Even if it’s just something like this where I don’t need to whip up a metaphor and am just dictating everything that pops into my head. It’s something. And with writing, you have to be consistent. I’m not a journal keeper and I’m no Anne Frank, so I don’t keep a diary, but for a blog, I kind of feel an obligation to write because I know that someone out there wants to read about it. Even just a little.

3. Well, I actually can’t think of another reason. But I guess it should be something about giving other people ideas of what to do? Is that a good one?

So I didn’t really know how much free time I will have. I mean, this whole college thing is new to me… kind of never done it before. So I don’t know how many goals I should include. This is what I have come up with:

FRESHMAN YEAR

  1. Fountain hop at every fountain
  2. Attend the Big Game.
  3. Get Mocha at the CoHo (Ani Misirian, this one’s for you)
  4. Hike the Dish
  5. Return to the treehouse
  6. Go to the top of the Hoover Tower
  7. Watch an old movie at The Varsity
  8. Show some school spirit in a creative way
  9. Have a picnic at the Oval
  10. Do NOT get the Freshman 15
  11. Get a Sprinkles cupcake
  12. Go to the Bi-Rite Creamery and get Sam’s Sundae
  13. Write and send letters
  14. Visit Haight and Ashbury
  15. Ride in a cable car
  16. Buy healthy food from the Farmer’s Market
  17. Learn how to ride a bike with no hands
  18. Try something out of my comfort zone (as if college wasn’t enough)
  19. Work Hard
  20. Play Hard

As you can see, the last two goals are very vague. Those two can be crossed off multiple times. It’s just that, I really don’t know what to expect. Who knows? I might be pulling all nighters every night and won’t be able to cross anything off this new list except for number 19. Really, the biggest goal this year is to make the best of it and most importantly to have fun.

Can’t be too difficult, can it?

One thought on “Summer 2011 Recap & Freshman Year List

Leave a Reply

