Hello?

It’s been a while.

 

I disappeared for about three-and-a-half years, but now here I am.

 

As I said in my latest post published at 1:10 am on September 20, 2011, I didn’t really know how much free time I’d have. After all, the whole college thing was very new to me.

 

Well now I’m a senior and I’m ending my last year of college this June! (What?!) I still don’t know what the rest of this year’s going to be like and how much free time I’ll actually have. I mean, this is the first time I’m doing this whole finishing college thing. For all I know, I may be pulling all-nighters every other weekend. Especially with a 60-page thesis on my agenda for the upcoming quarter.

 

I am coming back to this blog for personal reasons. Obviously I don’t have a large following, therefore making it easier for me to disappear years at a time without question. But I have decided to return. I’m doing this again for a couple of reasons, and since the list format is apparently my favorite— as I’ve tried to establish through this blog— let me enumerate these reasons:

 

1. To get off my ass- As I’ve mentioned throughout this post numerous times, I’m a senior! Which means I will leave Stanford soon, which means I don’t have much time to do all the things I want to do during this phase in my life when my biggest responsibilities include handcrafted ten-page papers and a consistent presence in social media. I hope this blog will help me concretize the final things on my college bucket list and hold me accountable to doing them instead of just keeping to myself in the unfortunately super convenient Stanford bubble.

2. To start writing again- My field of study has required me to write. A lot. Of essays and critiques. Regrettably, I haven’t been able to take as many creative writing courses as I would like, and I am hoping that continuing this blog can serve as my creative platform. I would like to just rant and write freely without worrying too much about thesis statements, spelling, or grammar.

3. To ease the pressure off the future- I started this blog the summer before starting college and I’m here to continue it before starting the real world. I seem to turn to it during the more transitional parts of my life when uncertainty strikes. Three-and-a-half years ago, I thought I would have my whole path to adulthood figured out by now, but I am just as confused as before. Blogging, writing, making lists of my short-term goals, and finally crossing those things off the list all give me a small sense of accomplishment and, I am hoping, will force me to think about my life now and my experiences now instead of freaking out too much about the uncertainty of the future.


So I guess that’s it for now. But I promise, this time, I will be back very soon.

Leave a Reply

