Updates and Senior Year Winter Quarter List

Before starting a new list and reorienting the blog to the present, I think it is only right to refer back to my last list (written on September 20, 2011) and check off what I have accomplished in the last three-and-a-half years:

 

FRESHMAN YEAR

  1. Fountain hop at every fountain – This happened, basically, on the first week of freshman year with our whole freshman dorm. Unfortunately, it can’t happen again anytime soon due to all the fountains being shut down during the drought.
  2. Attend the Big Game. – Happened first quarter with our whole freshman dorm.
  3. Get Mocha at the CoHo (Ani Misirian, this one’s for you) – Yes this happened. It was quite underwhelming. Their new kale mojito is good, though.
  4. Hike the Dish – Many, many, many times now. Most recently this past summer, during sunset which we did not even get to see, and with a bottle of wine.
  5. Return to the treehouse – Unfortunately, my dear friends, this treehouse was torn down the summer before I arrived on campus my freshman year and all that was left of it were two lawn chairs under the tree.
  6. Go to the top of the Hoover TowerThough I’ve done this before coming to Stanford, I actually haven’t done it during my time here! Time to add it to the new list!
  7. Watch an old movie at The Varsity – This happened Freshman year.
  8. Show some school spirit in a creative way – Hahahaha. Again, freshman year.
  9. Have a picnic at the Oval – Study at the Oval. Yes. Picnic at the Oval. No. So, no. I haven’t done this yet. But it doesn’t really make sense to add it to the list during winter quarter… But I should. Should I? Yes, I should.
  10. Do NOT get the Freshman 15 – I did NOT get the Freshman 15, so woohoo for me.
  11. Get a Sprinkles cupcake – Yup! Happened.
  12. Go to the Bi-Rite Creamery and get Sam’s Sundae – Also happened. Pretty good. But a bit underwhelming after Luna Park’s apples and goat cheese (yum!).
  13. Write and send letters – Absolutely happened… the first week of school or so. Then it stopped happening because people realized they could text instead.
  14. Visit Haight and AshburyHappened. I mean, how can you not find yourself here at least once in your life?
  15. Ride in a cable car – Almost, but not quite! So, no.
  16. Buy healthy food from the Farmer’s Market – Toffee almonds and lavender lemonade. Why, yes, those do sound “healthy.” We will count it.
  17. Learn how to ride a bike with no hands – Hahahaha. This did not happen and it will NOT go on the new list.
  18. Try something out of my comfort zone (as if college wasn’t enough) – Do frat parties count? Beer breath and sticky floors. Ew. Awkward first dates definitely count. So this definitely happened.
  19. Work Hard – Absolutely.
  20. Play Hard – Yes, but not “absolutely.”
Bi-Rite Sam's Sunday experience freshman year.
Bi-Rite Sam’s Sundae experience freshman year.

Looking back, I realize that I easily did a lot of these things my first quarter of freshman year. It was a college experience overload, and at the time, all I had to worry about was having these new experiences that were already prescribed to me from the beginning by poorly written Hollywood films. Films that tell us we should be going to frat parties every weekend and religiously cheering at football games. And that got tiring very quickly. Maybe not for other people, but definitely for me.

 

Except for the more practical “finish my honors thesis” goal, this new list made me think both about things I still haven’t done at Stanford— like experience the amazing events and locations that I thought I was too busy to even pay attention to— and things I wanted to do to get away from the campus bubble. I hope this will allow me to escape my school work and responsibilities, even just for a second, in order to experience some of the things that are going on around the Bay Area, because by senior year, frat parties and football games lose their novelty. Especially when the football team isn’t as good as it once was.

 

I should also note that my lifestyle now, as a student living in a dorm, is very different from what it once was when I used to blog. Not only is the list shorter because I need time to do classes and school, but it also doesn’t include baking recipes or friendship bracelet tutorials because I have neither the time nor the resources to do them these days. (I actually don’t even make friendship bracelets anymore, whoops!) So, without further ado, here is my new list for January-March 2015.

 

SENIOR YEAR WINTER QUARTER 

  1. Blog at least once a week.
  2. Finish my honors thesis draft by the end of the quarter (three chapters).
  3. Be able to run 3 miles in 30 minutes. And eventually go for a run outside, in public.
  4. Go on nature adventures.
  5. Go to a concert!
  6. Take a relaxing day trip to the city by myself and ride in a cable car.
  7. Do something that scares me.
  8. Volunteer my time for a cause that is important to me.
  9. Go to the top of the Hoover Tower.
  10. Have a picnic at the Oval.


Wish me luck!

6 thoughts on “Updates and Senior Year Winter Quarter List

Leave a Reply

