Nature Adventure #2: Sea Kayaking and Sea Sickness

This Valentine’s Day Tony and I went on a weekend getaway to Mendocino, CA! Now I know what you’re thinking. You’re probably wondering to yourself, “Where the hell is Mendocino?” and to that I say, “I don’t really know, but I was there and it reminded me of how life must have been back in the good ol’ days.”

 

Tony planned an action-packed weekend filled with all the eating a girl like me could possibly wish for. But the main event was Tony’s absolute favorite nature activity: kayaking.

 

My Snap about Valentine's Day kayaking
My Snap about Valentine’s Day kayaking

 

Tony’s taken me kayaking twice before. The first time was at Half Moon Bay, where we kayaked unattended around really expensive yachts and I may or may not have gotten my kayak jammed between them a few times because I may or may not have known how to paddle backwards. Then Tony may or may not have needed to pull me out.

 

The second time was at Queenstown, New Zealand where Tony and I shared a double kayak (thank God) and I was in front and Tony was in the back and by the end of the trip Tony’s arms were extremely sore from paddling and I felt completely fine. Hm. I wonder why.

 

This time, for some weird reason (and during Valentine’s Day, for God’s sake!) Tony wanted us to be in separate(!) single kayaks which made me extremely nervous because I still get very paranoid about my boat capsizing. But when I got in my kayak and our instructor gave me the last push into the ocean, I started paddling and realized how much easier it was this time around. I have even perfected the art of paddling backwards. Woohoo!

 

Now, remember when I said “Tony planned an action-packed weekend filled with all the eating a girl like me could possibly wish for”? Well, that morning we went to a cafe where I had a poppy-seed bagel with a delicious garlic and herb “shmear”. It was the perfect way to start the day. But after about thirty minutes of feeling the lulling motion of the frothy water below my boat, I realized that instead of worrying about capsizing, I should really have been worrying about seasickness. As delicious as that bagel was, I soon saw it floating in the water beside my kayak and, with my now expert use of the paddle, tried to vigorously push the floating bits down into the water, out of our instructor’s sight.

 

Despite the vomiting, I had an amazing time. I got to look down at massive waves from a tall cliff, eat a lot of hand-crafted dark chocolate, and see all the constellations in the night sky. And who could have thought we’d ever be doing this in Mendocino, CA?

One thought on “Nature Adventure #2: Sea Kayaking and Sea Sickness

Leave a Reply

